Hunger vs Humanity

Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired, signifies in the final sense a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed.

Dwight D. Eisenhower

I haven’t posted anything quite a few days. Holi-the color festival had its celebration on just one day i.e. 13th of March but the excitement and the energy can be sensed and realized a few days before also. Holi brings tremendous energy among the people. Everything seems to be at its extreme; so much of colors, so much water everywhere, so much music, so much dancing and last but definitely not the least so much of food.

Indians just love the food. Our every occasion, every get-together seems incomplete without the varieties of food placed. We have a nature of showing our love, through our food. Holi being a festival itself, so much of food is kind of obvious.

holi-recipes.jpg

Same happens in my family too. In the evening, when all this came to a rest there was so much of food left behind: the sweets, drinks, snacks, main-course and much more. Even if we continued the leftover at dinner that too with a condition-if our stomachs allowed us to have dinner that night, it was not possible to consume all the food. I was sure that if not consumed, it is going to end in the dustbin.

I remembered a day when I was passing through a street when I saw kids at the end of the road where garbage was thrown.They were rag pickers and were in search of plastic bottles, wine bottles etc which they would later exchange for money. I saw the youngest who was trying to eat an already ate apple from the garbage but was frustrated on his failure. This reminded me of the newspaper headlines which said “Human scavengers who survive on the left over food”. But seeing this in front of my eyes gave me a jolt. I realized I am having some food and an apple too in my bag. I took it out and called him. I said “I am not hungry, would you like to have this?” He nodded happily. I also asked him to share with his friends then I left, with unshod tears in my eyes.

jelveh20120828045036717_news_featured

Those heartbreaking memories reminded me the shiver I felt that day and I said to myself “I am not going to let this food end into the dustbin”. I got out of my home in search of anyone who needs to eat. My search ended within five minutes and I gave the food to a lady who wanted it for her kids. She was reluctant at first but then I said to take it as holi treat and I wished her a very happy holi. She agreed, thanked and wished me back happily. πŸ™‚ I was happy too, much more happy then her and it made my holi- literally a happy one. ❀

Here is the link if you want to help or if this idea doesn’t strike your mind at the very moment, go and and find someone in need just like I found. πŸ™‚

http://www.feedingindia.org/  

These β€˜Hunger Heroes’ Are Feeding India’s Poor Meals They’ve Never Had. With Your Excess Food.

Call the helpline for Feeding India to donate any excess food that you may have –

098711 78810

The cities where Feeding India currently provides its services are –
Delhi, Gurgaon, Noida, Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Chandigarh, Jaipur, Pune, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Kolkata, Chennai, Manipal city, Bhubaneshwar, Indore, Bhopal, Goa, Agra, Kanpur, Shiv Nadar University, SRM University, KIIT Bhubaneshwar
12 thoughts on “Hunger vs Humanity

Add yours

  1. Vithika i just asked that because getting job for electronics engineers is bit tough as electronic companies are not much there in india.sorry if i hurt you πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. How sweet of you to help feed those who need it the most. In America we have many homeless people and some of them do have to eat out of trash cans to survive. I feel bad for them and when my boyfriend had an extra burrito that he bought at a local fast food Taco Bell he gave it to a homeless man and the homeless man was very grateful. We were hoping he wouldn’t be angry at the offering of food instead of money but thankfully he wanted and I guess he needed it too. So it made us feel better to give it to him than to eat it ourselves. If you would follow me or check out my blog I would greatly appreciate it. Either way thank you for your very inspirational writings. -bel

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was so caught up with work one day and I skipped lunch. I was so dam hungry when I got back home and I ate anything I could get my hands on. Not getting good when you’re hungry is the worst. Loved the post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

